Box turtle help

Crazyturtlelady

Location (City and/or State)
Colorado
I am hoping someone can help me with understanding what is going on with my turtle.
I inherited a western box turtle in late spring, and have tried to research and do my best to take care of her. While I am not a newbie to tortoise keeping, I am unfamiliar with raising box turtles.
Her history is relatively unknown, as the only information given to me was that she is an older female named Chloe.
Chloe has seemed to be doing well up to this point. However in the last few weeks, she has barely eaten or gone in her bath. She rarely comes out from her log tunnel. Nothing has changed environmentally, and I wonder if she is trying to brumate?
I have not brumated any of my tortoises, and this will be a new experience for me (if that is what she is trying to do).
If anyone could offer some advice, it would be greatly appreciated :)

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
I am hoping someone can help me with understanding what is going on with my turtle.
I inherited a western box turtle in late spring, and have tried to research and do my best to take care of her. While I am not a newbie to tortoise keeping, I am unfamiliar with raising box turtles.
Her history is relatively unknown, as the only information given to me was that she is an older female named Chloe.
Chloe has seemed to be doing well up to this point. However in the last few weeks, she has barely eaten or gone in her bath. She rarely comes out from her log tunnel. Nothing has changed environmentally, and I wonder if she is trying to brumate?
I have not brumated any of my tortoises, and this will be a new experience for me (if that is what she is trying to do).
If anyone could offer some advice, it would be greatly appreciated :)
We need to know more about her housing and temperature.
1. What size enclosure?
2. What substrate?
3. What type of heating and lighting?
4. What type of UV bulb?