Box turtle hybrids?

Mallowolf

Hello everyone! My name is Sara. I'm 21 years old and i'm currently a college student who works part time at a pet store that deals with mostly snakes and lizards. I've always loved turtles and tortoises, but never had the chance to own one. Now I think i'm ready to take the plunge and get a box turtle.

I had my heart set on an eastern box turtle, but I've found out that they are illegal to keep in PA because they are native. I'm a bit bummed, but I would still like to get a box turtle regardless. While looking online, i've found some hybrids that caught my eye. They have 4 different box turtles mixed in with them (including the eastern box turtle). Would they be legal to keep in PA? Any information would be appreciated!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
I'm not familiar with PA's turtle regulations, but seems to me it would only apply to taking them from the wild. It might be ok to buy one from out of state. But check into it before you send $$.

Mallowolf

I just looked up online and it says "possession limit 0" for the eastern box turtle, I'm gonna assume that it means they aren't legal to keep regardless of where you get it.

I'm still wondering if hybrids would count then. Not too sure

Eric Phillips

5 Year Member
Ohio