Breeding my herman

Status
Not open for further replies.

tortoiselover+breeder1234

5 Year Member
Is my tort trying to find a mate?

My lovely tortoise George, (unsure of gender) is roaming around his cage, all around the outside, and keeps looking lonely. I have been told it's a he, since males do that when searching for a female mate. Is it true? I might get another tortoise with him, and would they breed?

Attachments

• image-2197872094.png
    image-2197872094.png
    267.6 KB · Views: 40

5 Year Member
I have a Herman tortoise, and I have a feeling he is trying to find a mate. He is about two and a half. How old do they have to be to mate? I'm a beginner. Also, what time, how and when should I breed?
(even if in a couple of years)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi tortoiselover+breeder:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

What would you like us to call you?

...and may we know appx where in the world you are?

In the first place, because all of your questions pertain to breeding the tortoise, I've merged the three separate threads into one.

If that's a picture of your Hermann, then you should know that its a Russian tortoise, not a Hermann's tortoise. Russian tortoises don't play well together. They fight rather rough. Even male/female groupings fight rough.

Your tortoise isn't lonely. He probably just wants outside.

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
At two and a half, your tort's gender is no certainty. They cannot be sexed reliably until 5 or more years old.

They are solitary in the wild and roaming is more an indicator of wanting more food and/or territory than a desire for company. They do not get lonely.

If in the company of others, they protect their territory and food violently, sometimes drawing blood, with the subordinate tort declining, becoming ill and possibly dying.