Can a baby sulcata survive in an enclosure outdoors? I need every help I can get

StubbyTheTortoise

Location (City and/or State)
Manila, Philippines
So, I am a student, still living with my parents here in the Philippines, around (30-35 degrees celsius in the day, 25-29 celsius at night) and they adamantly told me that the baby Sulcata Tortoise I will adapt next month (Dec. 2023) will not be allowed to stay indoors, coz they have this superstition that a turtle inside a house will slow down our success in life
Now with all that in mind, Im planning to buy a secure enclosure with ceramic heat emitter, along with the proper substrate and hide, with temp and humidity devices.
What else could I do to ensure the baby sulcata will live a long life and will avoid any pyramiding at all? Can they really live outdoors while still a baby ?

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
I totally agree with Maggie. If you can take care of it property then don't get one until you can, otherwise it's just animal abuse.
They need to be housed in a closed chamber with proper temps and humidity of 80% for about 2 years.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
So, I am a student, still living with my parents here in the Philippines, around (30-35 degrees celsius in the day, 25-29 celsius at night) and they adamantly told me that the baby Sulcata Tortoise I will adapt next month (Dec. 2023) will not be allowed to stay indoors, coz they have this superstition that a turtle inside a house will slow down our success in life
Now with all that in mind, Im planning to buy a secure enclosure with ceramic heat emitter, along with the proper substrate and hide, with temp and humidity devices.
What else could I do to ensure the baby sulcata will live a long life and will avoid any pyramiding at all? Can they really live outdoors while still a baby ?
Babies need to be housed indoors in stable conditions in a closed chamber.