Can I keep two Hermanns together?

Rhoen1

Hi :) I'm new to tortoises, and doing my research prior to purchasing one. I have a really cool plan for a 95sqft enclosure, and was wondering if two or even three Hermanns could be in that space without fighting. Also, if someone could answer a few other questions, I'd appreciate it.
1) do they need flagstone to file down their nails?
2) do they like to dig deep? I was thinking of making the enclosure 2 or even 4 ft tall. Is 2 good enough, or would 4 be a lot better?
3) do they recognise you? I love how tortoises can be sort of social, and recognise their owners. Do Hermanns do that?
4) would soil with grass planted be a good substrate?
5) what plants can be grown in the enclosure, and are decorative but safe to eat for them?
Thanks! :D

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Tortoises should not be kept in pairs. A trio of young juveniles, or a group of one adult male and two or more females will probably be fine in an enclosure that size.

Your questions:
1. Not a requirement, but I like to use flat rocks, slate or flagstone under my basking lamps.
2. 24" tall with 6-8" of substrate is plenty.
3. Generally yes. They begin to associate you with their food. Babies will likely remain leery for a few years, but as they get older, they will likely warm up to you.
4. I would not recommend this. They are not grass eaters and it can be tough to keep grass alive indoors. I prefer orchid bark and its available cheaply in bulk.
5. Its tough to grow plants indoors and tortoises will trample and eat them. You might have better luck if the plants are in planters, but grow your own from seed, or get them from safe sources. Any commercially bought plants will be full of systemic toxic pesticides that can last for up to a year.

Rhoen1