CHE distance and humidity

Seb

Location (City and/or State)
Cheshire
Hello!

I've recently installed a new CHE for my little 8 month old Hermanns tort. He seems to love the extra heat! He's roaming more and eating well. We have it on a thermostat and it's currently set at 25C/77F day and night. Does this sound okay? Also, how far from the substrate should it be positioned? We've basically guessed based on his basking bulb.

As expected, we're now having more issues keeping up the humidity. We have an open top tortoise table, which I know isn't ideal. Could putting a shower curtain over the enclosure help to manage the humidity enough?

Thanks!

Seb

Cheshire
Just wanted to bump this to see if anyone can help.

Also, I've been looking into getting a small humidifier. Is it worth it?

Jon c

Williamsville
I'm not an expert by any means, but yes keeping humidity and temps high enough for hatchtchlings is next to impossible on an open top table. It seems the best thing to keep them In til they reach proper age and weight(1-3yrs) is a closed chamber of some sort. On the high end there are pre built units with everything you need all built in that if you ask me are well worth the money. On the low end you can make a closed chamber with a Rubbermaid tote. Or as you asked you could certainly cover up what you have. Hope that helps some.

Seb

Cheshire
Yes, he has two plant pots that are kept nice and humid.

I didn't realise that they stay hatchlings for so long! I thought they would be fine in an open top table when they hit 100g (he's 70g now) so it didn't seem worth it to get a whole new enclosure. How do you know when they're okay to come out of the enclosed chamber?

Jon c

Williamsville
Yes, he has two plant pots that are kept nice and humid.