Cheers from Northwestern Florida!

ApartmentTortoise

5 Year Member
Hello all!

My 5 yo russian and I have just recently moved to the panhandle. We've been apartment dwellers for quite some time, and have recently upgraded to a 2 bedroom condo (yay, space!). I'm unfortunately not sure that I'm going to be here for more than a year, however. My boyfriend is in the navy, and so we move relatively frequently depending on his station.

SO, with that being said, I've had my tort for about 3 years now. I adopted him from a family that I used to nanny for; their son had lost interest in the little guy, and he basically stayed in a rather small terrarium void of interesting stuff. The mom gave him to me as a hope that I could provide for him a better life, and to relieve her from a pet that simply "took up space". Sad, but I fell in love with Raph as soon as I saw him , so I guess it's a bonus for the both of us. I'm still learning how to take care of him the best way I can, so that's why I joined!

Any suggestions from those that live in smaller, non-permanent abodes for me are greatly appreciated.
Cheers!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Welcome to the Forum!

My suggestion is to provide the biggest habitat for your Russian tortoise that you can fit in your condo. They require lots of space to roam, and get stressed when they are in a small container. If you have to, you can buy two large plastic tubs, cut out opposing ends, and put the two together. Or to fit in a corner of the room, cut out one end, then the side of the other one and make an "L". If your tortoise isn't going to be getting real sun, then be sure to provide a light that gives off UVB. This is very necessary in order to make the calcium he eats work inside his body, for strong bones and shell.

Kathy Coles

5 Year Member
North Carolina