Day lilies: poisonous or not?

Status
Not open for further replies.

kimber_lee_314

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
So Cal
I keep finding congflcting information about day lilies. Are the flowers safe for the tortoises or not? Does anyone actually feed these?

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
I thought all the lillies were toxic to some degree, but I'm no expert. I do not feed them to mine.

kimber_lee_314

10 Year Member!
So Cal
The CTTC "Edible Landscaping" page says they are okay, but other sites say no. I have a ton of these in my front yard just waiting to be gobbled up if I can verify their safety.

S

stells

Day lily flowers are fine in moderation.... mine have had them and enjoyed... all other lilies are toxic

Seiryu

10 Year Member!
SE Michigan
stells said:
Day lily flowers are fine in moderation.... mine have had them and enjoyed... all other lilies are toxic

Are the leaves OK also? I have hundreds of huge day lillies in my yard. I have always read day lillies were OK.

I plan to use them in my new outdoor enclosure project, but won't if for some reason the sites I viewed were not correct.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Thank you for the clarification Kelly. I was only a little wrong this time. I'm getting better with the plants.

kimber_lee_314

10 Year Member!
So Cal
Thanks! I have been searching the internet all day - some sites say even humans can eat them while others say that it will cause kidney damage! So confusing!

DeanS

SULCATA OASIS
10 Year Member!
SoCal
I think I'll just take a pass on ALL lillies...then I have NO WORRIES!:D

Itort

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Iowa
Daylilies are fine. They have been used in Oriental cooking for centuries. Just be sure they are daylilies not lilies like Easter lilies (daylily blossums only last a day).

Missy

5 Year Member
Illinois