Dog Osteosarcoma Question

Location (City and/or State)
Newark, DE
Hello everyone - I'm wondering if any of you have ever dealt with Osteosarcoma in a large dog? My 170 lb female Great Dane (7 1/2) was diagnosed last week. The recommended treatment is amputation of her right front leg followed by chemo. Although one of my boxers had lymphoma, he was not a candidate for chemo (cardiomyopathy) so I have zero experience with chemo for dogs. I've read dozens of posts on the Great Dane forums - and they almost cancel each other out. As many people say amputate if only for pain relief as say don't because there is no good outcome no matter what you do. I'm wondering if anyone here has dealt with it? Thanks. Bobbi

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
ah geez. i'm real sorry to read this. i don't have any words of wisdom for you, just a sympathetic listener.

Newark, DE
ah geez. i'm real sorry to read this. i don't have any words of wisdom for you, just a sympathetic listener.
thank you. I am taking her to an oncologist tomorrow. The vet she had her whole life retired recently and I do not have a lot of faith in the group that took over the practice. When I asked what they recommended the response was "well, she's really big....." not a lot of help.

MPRC

5 Year Member
Oregon
Osteosarcoma is nasty, in my experiences working in a vets office even after amputation animals usually come back 3-6 months later with regrowth. I do not have experience with animals doing chemo though so I don't know how well it would slow the growth.
How are your dane's hips and back legs? Does your vet think she will be able to adapt to being a tripod?

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
My first great dane had this in a back leg. He lived for another year and a half and almost made it to 12 years old.