Excitement!

JerryBerry

Hey everyone :) I'd had an adult female egyptian tortoise for five years, and I found her a husband last year. I've been spotting them mate several times these last few days and I'm prearing myself for eggs.

My question is: how long before I expect to find eggs?

Thanks
Jerry

HermanniChris

TFO Sponsor
10 Year Member!
It totally depends. In can happen in as little as 6 weeks after mating or it could take several years before seeing results.

JerryBerry

Thanks for your replies :) What affects this period's length? The temperature? The diet? Maybe genetics? Or the fact that the male has possibly never mated and might fail to fertilise the female? This is my first time attempting to breed kleinmanni, I don't know if rules for other tortoises follow through her as well

Kapidolo Farms

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
South of Southern California, but not Mexico
Egg production in the wild is influenced by seasonal food availability. Wild females can and do lay infertile eggs because they cycled based on seasons and food abundance. Captive females that all gets more random based on the diet you offer, and how their hormone cycles are affected by your husbandry routine. Specifics for Egyptians I am not so knowledgeable on.

In many species the shortest cycle from mating to laying fertile eggs is about 3.5 to 4 weeks. But it can be a much longer period if the female has mated but her own cycle and nutritional status will not support laying eggs.

JerryBerry

Ahh I understand :) We try to keep their supply of leafy greens as constant as possible of course. Suppose all I can do now is wait and have an incubator on standby... What are the best threads on this forum that I can re-read about egg laying and incubation?

Kapidolo Farms

10 Year Member!
South of Southern California, but not Mexico