Exoterra UVB200

Status
Not open for further replies.

aidenb

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Saskatchewan, Canada
Has anyone used this bulb for a hermanns? It's supposedly high-intensity and made for uromastyx, beardies, and other reptiles tht are exposed to strong bright sunlight for most of the day.

Jabuticaba

5 Year Member
Winnipeg, MB
Hi. Are you new here? If so, welcome. :) I'm new to tort keeping as well, so I can't give you too many pointer as I'm still learning. I can tell you, though, about what I have learned from the more experienced people here.

The particular coil bulbs you're asking about are not safe for torts, according to some of the more experiences people here. We're not sure what causes the damage, but another forum member, Baoh, is running an experiment. You can check the thread "coil bulb experiment," in the Enclosure threads.

Now, I can tell you from personal experience that coil bulbs are definitely not safe for human eyes. A couple of yrs before getting my torts, I bought one for myself to help with serotonin-melatonin balance and vitamin-D production. Although I never looked straight into the light--the bulb was mounted overhead and my eyes were directed downward, as I read--I still couldn't manage more than 20 minutes of reading before my eyes began burning. So I'm assuming that it's also what reptiles experience.

The one I got for my torts is the Exoterra Professional Series, Solar Power 125; UVB & heat. It was recommended by other people here and it seems to work just fine; no harmful effects to the eyes.

Hopefully, other people will chime in soon. Have a good day! :)

May[CHERRY BLOSSOM], Hermann's [TURTLE][TURTLE] & Aussie [DOG FACE][DOG FACE][DOG FACE] (@YWG)

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California