First time caring for 2 marginated tortoises.

Cameron6920

Location (City and/or State)
Truro, Cornwall, UK
Hi,

This is my first time caring for 2 marginated tortoises (hatched in 2020 so still fit in the palm of my hand) and I just wanted to run through my set-up and routine to see if I'm doing everything right or if I'm doing anything wrong. As well as some tips and tricks ?

Set-up:

Habistat tortoise table.
100w basking lamp with UVa and UVb.
3"/4" deep eco mediterranean tortoise soil substrate.
Shallow food and water dish with slight ramp on the front to help get in and out of the bowls.
Log tunnel.
20w heat mat stuck to the roof of the tortoise table hideout.

Food:

I am currently trying to grow a variety of weeds as the main bulk of their diet.
Dried edible flowers.
Tortoise pellets.
Calcium dust.
Minerals and vitamins dust.

Routine:

Wake up and turn on their basking lamp.
Throw away water from the day before and boil kettle and wait until it reaches around 30 degrees Celsius. Place the tortoises in there empty water bowl and slowly trickle the warm water over there shells and legs (i read this is a good way to give them a sort of natural rain fall effect) until the bowl fills to the underside of their shell. Let them soak and drink the water until they choose to leave the water bowl (usually around 10/15 mins).
Fill the food bowl with a variety of food listed above whilst dusted with calcium and vitamins listed above.
This routine is repeated daily.

My only real concern is I don't really put a lot of food in there bowl but the next day when I go to change it there is still usually a lot left over from the day before. I will keep trying different weeds until I find out what they like. They also spend a lot of time sleeping but I'm assuming this is due to them just being babies!
My plan also is in the summer to buy a pen for them in the garden but ill ask for some more advice on that when it comes to it. ?