Found a tort in my front yard

John in TX

image.jpg Hello everyone. I'm new to the tort forum so please forgive any incorrect etiquette.
A tort wandered into my front yard, dug a hole and took up residence. He's driving the neighbors dog crazy and I'm afraid the dog will jump the fence looking for some tort soup. I called the local wildlife rescue to come get him, but they didn't seem to think it was a big deal. Talking with them and describing his shell appearance they felt he was a wild tort since he had a lot of mud on his shell. I took the guy away from the fence line and the hole he had dug and placed him about 15' away from the dog and hoping he would take a hint and meander back from which he came. That didn't happen. He went back to his hole and there he sits. Driving the dog next crazy.
Any hints on what to do for this guy?
I'll attach the pic I took of him.
Thanks for any and all help.
John

Last edited by a moderator:

G-stars

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Might be an escaped pet. Especially if you live in the suburbs/city. Can't make out what kind if tortoise he is. You will have better luck identifying him if you house him down then take a pic.

— Gus

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
It would help if we could really see what it is you have found. Seeing his entire body, especially seeing his head is helpful. Even seeing his stomach (plastron) can be useful, too.

tortdad

5 Year Member
NW Houston TX
Got a pond near you? That strip down its shell says water turtle to me.
Hose it off and get some pictures of the top and bottom of the shell plus a face shot. What neck of the woods are you from

0.0.1 Redfoot (Spike)
0.0.1 Cherryhead Redfoot (Bruce Wayne)
1.0 Sulcata (Hal Jordan)

tortdad

5 Year Member
NW Houston TX
Go pick it up and look at it in the face. Does it have yellow stripes down its legs like this guy?