gravid female sulcata

Status
Not open for further replies.

turtlelady80

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Tortoise Farm
Hi everybody! This is my first time posting a thread. I need some advice! My female (17in) sulcata laid 2 eggs yesterday around noon. She is pacing and sniffing like crazy but she's not digging.? The 2 eggs she laid yesterday are in my incubator but they are really "mushy".? They arent hard and white like I would expect them to be. Im confused. Please help...any advice?? [/b]

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi turtlelady80:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

Sometimes a first time egg layer doesn't really have the knack of nest building. The eggs probably aren't any good. Nothing to worry about. She'll get the hang of it soon and next time will be better.

May we know your name and where you are?

dmarcus

5 Year Member
Las Vegas, NV
Hello and welcome to the forum...

I can't help with the egg issue as I have not had to worry about breeding. I am sure you will get lots of help..

turtlelady80

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Farm
My name is Melissa and I am in Delaware. My vet came over yesterday and sais she's full of eggs. And she was pacing like crazy yesterday after laying the 2 eggs. And she was sniffing and up all night last night. This is her first time laying eggs. Its a waiting game i guess

B

byerssusan

Aww a first time mamma..Hope all goes well with her egg laying..And welcome..your gonna love it here.

mld9373

5 Year Member
turtlelady80 said:
My name is Melissa and I am in Delaware. My vet came over yesterday and sais she's full of eggs. And she was pacing like crazy yesterday after laying the 2 eggs. And she was sniffing and up all night last night. This is her first time laying eggs. Its a waiting game i guess

How old is your sulcata ?

EricIvins

5 Year Member