Hello - I'm a newbie from Arkansas with 1 Leopard Tort

Status
Not open for further replies.

Redmesa

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Arkansas
Just saying 'hello'. Hello - I'm a newbie from Arkansas with 1 Leopard Tort.

Any insights into the Leopard Tortoise personality?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Redmesa:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

What would you like for us to call you?

We all have different opinions on that. My leopards are pretty rocks, but Neal's leopards have personality. So I guess it just all depends upon each individual tortoise.

Redmesa

5 Year Member
Arkansas
You can call me "Red" if you'd like.

I just got a hatchling - he seems to have a personality but I'm new to all this... He DOES want to escape his turtle box. Any advice?

Thanks.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
WELCOME:D. My 11 mo. Has a great personality, all though a little lazy too:D if you haven't already, please read the threads at the bottom of my post. Great reading.

Redmesa

5 Year Member
Arkansas
Which species would you say has the most personable personality?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
He Red:

Go back over your husbandry and be sure everything is ok in there. If he can see through the glass walls, you may have to wrap it with paper so he can't see out. Make sure its not too hot for him. Does he have plenty of hiding spots, water, food? Is there an area where he can get cool away from the light? There are many things that make a tortoise try to get out of his habitat. It is unusual for a hatchling to do anything other than eat and hide, so something must be wrong with the way he is housed.

Redmesa

5 Year Member
Arkansas