Hello!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melicia

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
South africa
Good day all!

I am new to the turtle business, so be patient!! I'm a lot better versed on birds, but totally animal crazy.

I got my 2 turtles last night, and I'm wondering if anyone can help me identify them. But here is the catch: I live in South Africa. Would you be able to identify them if I posted pictures? I need to sort out feeding and housing for them, as they are still tiny. They are the same species, but from 2 different clutches of eggs. The larger one was hatched in feb (so we were told), and is now 36 grams. The smaller can't be too old, it still has a tiny bit of egg sack/yolk ( not sure what it is called), and is not eating, but does drink water.

I'm a big fan of google, but you can't google what you can't name!!

O, I meant tortoise, not turtle. (Bad SA manners shining through;))

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Melicia:

417272mey8pz5lfi.gif

to the forum!

Yes, we have some folks on this forum that are quite good at identifying tortoises from pictures. Please post them.

Yvonne

Melicia

5 Year Member
South africa
It looked like the bigger one was bullying the smaller one, but I thought I was imagening it. I will split them as soon as I get home. I will post pics on friday at the latest. I am using the pc at work, and the data cable for my phone is not here to download the pictures. Forgot to say, the smaller one is 25 grams.

Stazz

5 Year Member
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Welcome Melicia !!! I'm South African too ! Can't wait to see the pics of your new babies. This is the best place for you to learn how to care for them properly. I keep learning everyday !

Melicia

5 Year Member
South africa