HELP! baby sulcata not growing

Status
Not open for further replies.

sullyZlova95

5 Year Member
Hello im mike and I've had my tortoise for almost three months now and hes not growing! I feed him clovers, weeds, grass, and veggies from the store every now and then, i soak him 10-30 mins a day (depending if he stays still) his enclosure is 3*4 ft and hes only 2.5inches from ends of shell, and weighs 49.2 grams no change in three months.......idk what too do

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
RE: HELP!

Welcome to the Forum, Mike.

Heat plays a very important part in a baby tortoise's growth. Can you tell us how you keep the tortoise: hot side, cool side, hiding place, waterer, substrate, type of enclosure and anything else you can think of.

Most keepers of baby sulcatas soak them every day in a bowl they can't climb out of for about 15 minutes every day.

lovelyrosepetal

5 Year Member
Oklahoma

I am new to all of this myself. I would do what emysemys says, she knows a lot about helping sick tortoises. I would also look into getting your tortoise to a vet. Another member here, had a similar problem and it was worms. The worms were eating the food in its stomach and the tortoise died. I am not saying that this is your problem, just that you might want to check into it. Good luck with your little tortoise.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA

Hello and Welcome.:) give us the stats to emysemys questions and we might be able to help you tweak things to where they should be. Getting your tort checked for worms is a good idea too. Also, add Mazuri tortoise diet a couple times a week to your torts diet. Also, take a look at the threads at the bottom of my post. Great info for raising a smooth sulcata.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California

How was the tortoise housed and started before you got him?

sullyZlova95

5 Year Member