Help! (bleeding claws)

Pippabrewer

I am really new to this. I have inherited a Hermann tortoise. I tripped and stumbled onto him earlier. I've just noticed he has lost two claws and been bleeding. The bleeding has stopped and I have cleaned it what else should I do? I feel awful, I can't stop crying!!

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Fes, Morocco
Hello, Pippa and a very warm welcome to Tortoise Forum. :)
Use Neosporin on the wound and keep it clean.
Tortoises are very resilient and he should recover from this incident.
Are the toes themselves okay and are the nails snapped off or ripped out ?
Is he walking alright ?
If it's very serious you may need to visit a herp vet, not a regular cat and dog vet.
Your tortoise should not be walking free so you are able to fall on him, he should have a nice secure enclosure, a home of his own.
Have a look at http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/
and http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/sticky-hermanns-tortoise-care-sheet-updated.101410/
for lots of helpful care information.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
He probably will be fine. Keep a closer eye on him and the spot it was bleeding. However, please learn from this. This is the reason we are so against a tortoise roaming outside of his enclosure.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Welcome to the Forum!

It's always a good idea to have a styptic powder on hand in your first aid kit:

41OPJjO6D8L._AC_UL320_SR238,320_.jpg

Flour works too, but not as well.

Pippabrewer

Is he walking alright ?
If it's very serious you may need to visit a herp vet, not a regular cat and dog vet.
Your tortoise should not be walking free so you are able to fall on him, he should have a nice secure enclosure, a home of his own.
and http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/sticky-hermanns-tortoise-care-sheet-updated.101410/