Help me identify and help these Tortoises/Turtles!!!

Xabbusan

Location (City and/or State)
Seattle, WA
I work Security at a private school and have been worried about some tortoises (I believe) that are in one of the classrooms. Can someone help me identify them? I have Zero experience with turtles or tortoises but I don't believe that they are being very well taken care of. Everyone left for Spring Break and they just left a couple of shriveled apple pieces in the tank and when I checked today their muddy water cup was empty.

Usually when I look in on them they hide in their shells, but today (after a week with no-one here) they were totally out of their shells, one tried to bite me when i reached in, and they let me pick them up without going into their shells which they have never done before... are they starving/dehydrated?

I would like to help them out as much as I can, so info on proper cage/food setup would be much appreciated. They are currently in a 20 gallon with dirt/bark substrate and just a dirty tupperware that occasionally has water in it. I read through the forum post on beginner mistakes by Tom and it seems like nearly everything is wrong with this situation :(

Orange 1.jpg Orange 2.jpg Orange 3.jpg Tank.jpg Yellow 1.jpg Yellow 2.jpg Yellow 3.jpg

Stuart S.

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Paris, Texas
Those are box turtles and they're being neglected. Thank you for helping when they're not even your responsibility. Looks like they could use a warm soaking, some worms, and a warm lamp. And even a new home! Poor things, this is why turtles don't do good as classroom pets.

Xabbusan

Seattle, WA