HELP NEW KIWI OWNER OF A BOX

Status
Not open for further replies.

jnc52

5 Year Member
Hi
My name Is Jon and I live in NZ. I have tracked down a pair of box turtles that have cost me $6000 (they are super rare down here and we cant import any reptiles due to restrictions) there are only a handful of adults floating around. I have kept snake neck turtles, water dragons and reeves turtles so i have some experience.
I have a few questions when i get them we are just coming into winter in NZ and I am wanting to hibernate them (they have been for 5 out of the last 6 years) I have been told by the owner that Christchurch conditions are perfect to keep them outside so i wont need to keep them in the fridge. However I am a little nervous as this is my first time doing this. is there a link or a web page with some instructions?

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
CA
I always recommend to never hibernate new animals, it is just something I follow, sorry I can't help you with your request I just wanted to welcome you and ask what type of boxes are they that cost 6,000.? Are we talking US dollars? or NZ dollars?

jnc52

5 Year Member
dmmj said:
I always recommend to never hibernate new animals, it is just something I follow, sorry I can't help you with your request I just wanted to welcome you and ask what type of boxes are they that cost 6,000.? Are we talking US dollars? or NZ dollars?

American Box. sadly in NZ we have a very small reptile community, this is due to the banned importation. We have some exotics here that are kept under lock and key and you have to know people to get your hands on them, and even then they cost a pretty penny.
I know a breeder that purchased a pair of Leopard Geckos at $30,000 NZD and green iguanas where being sold at $5000

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Jon:

Welcome to the forum!!