Help Planning Tank Setup For Turtle

Cajuju

Location (City and/or State)
California
Hello!
I might be getting a couple razorback musk turtles soon, and I have been doing some research about what they would need. I would like to give them as much space as possible so I was looking at getting the Aqueon 55 Gallon LED Aquarium Kit. But it doesn’t look like the hoods would provide them UVB or basking spot.

What should I use as the hood for a 55 gallon tank? The other alternatives like screens with lamps on top are an option, but it doesn’t look like theres room to put a filter. I might be wrong, but I don’t want to guess and keep buying the wrong items.

Background: I own two sulcata tortoises and built them a fully enclosed setup. So I’m not a complete beginner with reptiles. I did have a turtle when I was a kid, but we had a very bad setup. And I would like to make this one perfect for them.

Cajuju

California
Are you starting with hatchlings, or older turtles?
I’m currently waiting on pictures of them. According to the posting, they are baby razorback musk turtles and this person also has a notice saying “turtles 4in and smaller are for education and research purposes”. So I’m assuming they aren’t hatchlings and are bigger than 4in.
Hopefully that helps.

Pastel Tortie

Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
North Florida
Start with the care sheets on Austin's Turtle Page. They have really good information, and many of our members with turtles have relied (and continue to rely) on their information.
http://www.austinsturtlepage.com/Care/caresheets.htm
Start with the sheet for Razorback Musk, but also read the sheets for Stinkpot (Common Musk) and the Three-Striped Mud and Eastern Mud turtles as well.

Pastel Tortie

Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
North Florida