Hermann vs.Greek Tortoise

Status
Not open for further replies.

acpaws

5 Year Member
Hello,
I am currently new to all this and am trying to do some research to help me better decide which tortoise is best for my family: a Hermann or a Greek..I do have 2 little girls and am looking for one that is friendly, stays small, is hardy and has somehwhat of a personality. My cousin has one in Europe that she says is a Greek...I have attached a couple of pictures hoping to have someone confirm that for me...I was hoping to find one like hers. Thanks and appreciate any advice and /or suggestions from anyone...also, has anyone had any issues with Salmonella and handling? of course I am asking because of my 2 girls and do understand to wash hands after handling:)

Attachments

• Dodi 2013_.jpg
    Dodi 2013_.jpg
    250.1 KB · Views: 67
  • Dodika_1.jpg
    Dodika_1.jpg
    271.9 KB · Views: 69

ScottishFish

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Scotland
I have a hermanns, very fun little tortoise, from what ive read the largest they can get is around 7-8 inches if it is an Eastern Hermanns tortoise. On the other hand a Western Hermanns male should max out around 5-6 inches. Mines is very easy to handle.

One thing I have found out is that they really need a large area to walk around. For their size they do a hell of a lot of walking!!

1 Eastern Hermanns Tortoise 2.5yo

acpaws

5 Year Member
Thnaks for the info...can you tell looking at the 2 pics whether it is a greek or a hermanns?

ScottishFish

5 Year Member
Scotland
I have zero experience with Greeks, however at a glance I would say it looks like a Eastern Hermanns.

However I am now going to go and google pics of Greeks to satisfy my own curiosity!! :p

ScottishFish

5 Year Member
Scotland
After some googling I have came to the conclusion that to the untrained eye greeks and Hermanns are pretty similar!

So I no have some doubts about my original guess.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club