Hi All. Newbie here!

Status
Not open for further replies.

StephanieMolina

5 Year Member
:D First of all I would like to say hello to everyone! Secondly I would like to say thank you for welcoming me into such a great, resourceful, informative community. I used to own red eard sliders when I was a teen. But recently when I went to visit my father and he had a baby sulcata tortoise. My son was so excited and spent the whole day with PeeWee. I wanted to know if this type of tortoise would be a great pet to help a small child that needs speech therapy. All comments and concerns are welcome.

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
A Land Far Away...
Hi and welcome! My question would more be, do you have the room to properly house such a large and sometimes destructive tortoise? If not, you may want to look at another type. Also define what you means as a "pet".

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome. Sulcatas are my favorite species, but they are not the best choice for everyone. They get huge. 150 pounds sometimes. They are a burrowing species, so they often dig holes all over the place. They eat A LOT. They will strip a normal back yard as they get bigger. Because they are tropical and so large, they must live outside and they need a heated shelter for most of the year in most places. If you think you could house a pig or horse, then the sulcata might be the right tortoise for you. If raised right they are very hardy and usually extremely personable.

Where in the country are you? If you are in Northern Minnesota, some other species might be easier. If you are in one of the Southern states and have some acreage, then they are much easier to maintain.

If sulcatas are not right for you, there are lots of other species that you might like. And these would likely help your son just as much.

Dagashi

5 Year Member
Firstly.. WElcome!!