Indoor: Good Strong Light

austinbrehun

Hello, I am new to tortoise care and was wondering about the best kind of light I should get for an indoor enclosure 2ft x 4ft.

I would like to know first off what brand would be best and any other information to help as im looking to not spend an insane amount ill probably look for the light on amazon.

Im temporarily using a Zilla Blue Day Light (full spectrum) until i get a new one. It puts off good head and says full spectrum im just aware they brake often so I need a sturdier better light.

Any information and suggestions are appreciated!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
The info about the Zilla bulb:

• Provides basking heat source for reptiles to regulate their body temperature
  • Emits full-spectrum light and UVA rays needed for a healthy reptile environment
  • Ideal for tropical and desert habitats
  • Full-spectrum lamp
It says "full spectrum", but then says provides UVA rays. I really doubt at $8 that this bulb provides the necessary UVB rays. The tortoises don't need UVA as much as they need UVB.

I like this bulb:

mercury vapor bulb.jpg

It's quite a bit more expensive than your bulb, but it DOES provide the necessary UVB (plus heat). I buy mine on Amazon.

austinbrehun

Do you use this lighting for your tortoises? How long have you been using and are they durable and enough?

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
We need to know a bit more about what species and how you are housing it. There are infinite combinations of heating and lighting equipment to choose from and all of it has good and bad points.

I typed this up for another member a few days ago:

"Let me break down the heating and lighting thing. You need three or four elements: