Is he happy?

sarahrebekah

Location (City and/or State)
UK
Hello everybody!

I purchased an 18 month old Hermanns tortoise (he's called Kraken ) 6 days ago. I am a complete tortoise newbie but has tried to do as much research as possible to help him be as happy as he can be and I am so in love with him.

The first 3 days, he was very energetic, eating lots of food, climbing on everything and sliding off, awake for approx 10 hours... Completely lively and fearless basically.

The last 3 days he's only been awake for approx 5 hours and just lies under his heat lamp, appearing to be very sleepy, occasionally going over to nibble some food but not finishing it all, then going back to lie under the lamp before retreating back under his hide. He also hasn't done a poo. I've read a lot about them hiding/eating their poo but I've been watching him very closely and I really don't think he's been. I've bathed him 3 times so far, in the morning in warm water for about 10 minutes and he's passed the white stuff twice, which looks healthy.

I've attached a photo of him and his tortoise table I made. It was made with the correct wood and very low VOC paint etc. The 1 lamp is a 80W heat/UV lamp purchased from a pet store, the other is just a normal light bulb as it can get quite dark in my house if the sun isn't shining. They are both on a timer 9am-9pm. Ive been feeding him a pile of Florette leaves the size of him everyday. The little plants are cacti and the big one is aloe vera, all of which I read are tortoise safe, however they are all too tall for him to reach anyway.

What do you think guys?

Is this just a 'let him settle in a bit longer' situation or a ''take him to a vet' situation?

Attachments

• IMG_20180827_095545.jpg
    IMG_20180827_095545.jpg
    4 MB · Views: 96
  • IMG_20180827_095559.jpg
    IMG_20180827_095559.jpg
    4.8 MB · Views: 93

SweetGreekTorts

Tucson, AZ