Jobs with animals

spud's_mum

Location (City and/or State)
United Kingdom
So as some of you may know, I am still in school and need to start thinking of future career choices. I don't know what I want to do but I what I do know is that I want to work with animals.

I was wondering if you cold list any jobs that you know of that I could read into, also if you have any experiences, please share them :D

Oh and one thing... I'm not too good with blood so I don't think a vet is a good idea for me. o_O

Linhdan Nguyen

Maryland
I was thinking animal control officers but i do remember watching a show when i was younger about some in texas & they would rescue dogs that are being neglected and abused, theres usually bad open wounds or dried blood. Im not sure how much you can tolerate & i think there was a different name for the officers.

spud's_mum

United Kingdom
I was thinking animal control officers but i do remember watching a show when i was younger about some in texas & they would rescue dogs that are being neglected and abused, theres usually bad open wounds or dried blood. Im not sure how much you can tolerate & i think there was a different name for the officers.
I thought of that. I was watching animal cops Huston today actually. A lot of the time they have to be put down though so that's the only down side :(

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
It depends on how you want to work with animals.

My daughter is currently working as a field assistant in a national park in Canada researching Prairie Dogs. She graduated in Biology & Geography last summer from university.

She is handling animals from the youngest pups upwards. She has also been out with the rangers helping them with Burrowing Owl and Sage Grouse.

There is a huge range of careers open to you, many of which you may struggle to imagine. Everything from dog/horse grooming, kennel maid and veterinary nurse to blacksmith and conservation officer via animal trainer and pest control officer.