leopard with underbite/deformed jaw

Status
Not open for further replies.

lvstorts

10 Year Member!
Hello everyone,
I'm fostering a 2 year old leopard tort and promised the owner I'd post pictures of Rigby's deformed jaw and ask your opinions. I'm not too experienced with deformities nor Leopards (I don't know what subspecies he is).

As far as I can tell it doesn't hinder him. He's active and eats fine. I wonder about his future...any thoughts? Should I trim the under bite? Please see attached pictures.

Additionally, some scutes (see pic) seem to "overlap." Is this a structural thing or a deformity thing? The shape of the shell, normal?

To reiterate, I'm not experienced with Leopards at all and I'm taking him while the owner deals with a domestic situation. I'm following a care sheet written by Misty Corton found on the World Chelonian Tust site for husbandry and feeding guidelines.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Attachments

• front view.jpg
    front view.jpg
    135.7 KB · Views: 139
  • gap.jpg
    gap.jpg
    128.5 KB · Views: 120
  • side shot.jpg
    side shot.jpg
    303.1 KB · Views: 135

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
USA
Yes that should be trimmed. As well you will need to look at the upper beak with the mouth open. It maybe curling inwards and need trimming also. I'm not seeing a thing wrong with the shell. Her subspecies is Stigmochelys pardalis babcocki.

Danny

lvstorts

10 Year Member!
Danny,
Thanks for the info and taking a look. I checked his upper jaw and it grows normal, not into his mouth. Any helpful hints on trimming the under bite? I'm guessing using a really small drimmel attachment...maybe somehow clip it off with a manicure scissors....thoughts?

Any recommendations on how to hold his neck out? It's so small, I don't want to hurt him. I've trimmed big guys but nothing this small!

Thanks again.

Neal

10 Year Member!
Arizona
What are you feeding the tortoise?