Leos out in the rain

Status
Not open for further replies.

kimber_lee_314

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
So Cal
I'm new to Leopards and still learning about their care. The lady who gave them to me kept them outside year round (they had a wooden box with a Kane heat mat, we live in So Cal, and they are all adults.) Now they are living in my yard in a rubbermade deck box and a Kane heating mat. So far so good. Today it is raining, but not hard, so I opened their door so they could come out if they wanted to. Now they are out in the rain, walking around and grazing. Are they going to be okay with this? They usually go back to deckbox on their own, but I'm concerned about them being wet as it gets cooler tonight. Any thoughts?

Neal

10 Year Member!
Arizona
Sounds like they are older, possibly adults?

I wouldn't worry about it too much, an older or adult tortoise usually knows what's best for itself. It sounds like they know what their hide box is for. As long as they can get their bodies to the temperatures they need, then there should be nothing to worry about.

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California
I think that I would be worried as well....I believe that I would do only one change...I would add a heating element from over head...perhaps a red heat lamp or CHE...the only reason I would do this is the kane mat is a great warming source but it does not generate the amount and type of heat to offer a drying affect...you know?

I do not keep Leopards (not yest anyway...they are fricken awesome) but I am strictly basing my opinion on how heat is generated...and a warming mat is great for warming but not so great for the type of heating required to dry.....IMHO :D

DeanS

SULCATA OASIS
10 Year Member!
SoCal