MVB bulbs, and baby torts

Status
Not open for further replies.

volcom6981

5 Year Member
I was just wondering how many of you use MVB for baby tortoise enclosures? I have seen where some love it, but where others think they are too hot, and may dehidrate the tortoise. I have just recently switched my regular bulb and tube uvb, to a MVB, and the tube for the extra light. Its a marginated tortoise only a couple months old, under the MVB its about 95-100, and the cool side is about 80 degrees, and i use a CHE at night on a T-Stat to keep it warm. I have noticed so far that my tort hangs out under the MVB bulb all the time, and sleeps under it alot. He moves around the area but always stays there, so im just wondering if there is a reason why, or something i should be concerned about, or just likes to be warm? I soak him everyday for about 30 min. but this is my first time using this kind of bulb.

Oh i should also mention i have a 2 year old Leopard Tort that i use the MVB bulb on as well, only difference is the Leopard uses the whole enclosure, and dosnt spend all day under the MVB. Its getting colder here in PA so i brought my young guys in for the winter.

ascott

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Apple Valley, California
I have noticed so far that my tort hangs out under the MVB bulb all the time, and sleeps under it alot. He moves around the area but always stays there, so im just wondering if there is a reason why, or something i should be concerned about, or just likes to be warm?

Okay so here is my two cents; I believe that Mercury Vapor Bulbs are a useful tool, if used as part of an enclosure (and for sun loving torts and not all species of torts) set up.