My first attempt at a tortoise table

Status
Not open for further replies.

AcidElvis

5 Year Member
This is my first attempt at a tortoise table. It's 2'x4' and lined with a shower liner. There is a 18" UVB light mounted just out of camera view above the enclosure. I have a ceramic bulb for basking on the right, as well as a night light there. I have two terracotta bowls in there. One is a water dish, while the other functions as a food bowl. I have a second food bowl in the top left hand corner. I have a cactus mounted on one of the small wood walls between the water and food dish. They love the cactus. There hide is on the left and is 1'x2'. I will adding a ramp to a second story above the hide. I also added a fake crocodile skull for decoration. I made some mistakes building it but nothing that affected the out come. I will know what to do and not to do next time. Any advice on my build would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Attachments

• IMAG0675.jpg
    IMAG0675.jpg
    960.3 KB · Views: 228
  • IMAG0673.jpg
    IMAG0673.jpg
    836.3 KB · Views: 201
  • IMAG0674.jpg
    IMAG0674.jpg
    922.9 KB · Views: 223

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Nice, Eddie. Pretty good for a first attempt. Next time make it a bit bigger. I think the way you've blocked each other's sight at the feeding stations is very inventive. Good job.

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Not bad at all. One suggestion. The light that is on the clamp. Find a different way to attach the light other then the clamp. The clamp is known to not hold and then either a fire or burned tort.

AcidElvis

5 Year Member
Really, I've used lights on clamps for a long time with snakes and never had any fall. What other way would you suggest?

Blakem

10 Year Member!
California
AcidElvis said: