My tropical jungle....NOT

AnimalLady

So, I envisioned a tropical jungle oasis when planning the new torts home. Tropical plants everywhere, shade, so much shade and just straight up beautiful. WELL. That's not exactly what I ended up with. Plants are costly, and I under budgeted I guess. So, what I did was put a piece of plywood like a roof type hide thing. This piece of plywood will be cut in half today or tomorrow, so it wont be that huge, I'm thinking of giving half to Mac and half to the new baby.
I'm not good at this, and I realized it yesterday and it upset me, lol.. BUT, I'm very good with constructive criticism, so let it rip!
Also, I know I should probably have put a 2nd layer of cinder block, but I haven't gotten around to it yet and well, yea, just that. It stays like this for now.

The vine in the back is NOT toxic and it is safe, no worries. Also, the can of ant spray is gone, I sprayed it all around the enclosure to help with the ants and stuff.

So, I just wanted to show you all the 2 set ups side by side. Mac to the left, baby to the right (I really need to come up with a name, maybe Baby isn't a bad one, eh?)

IMG_0102.JPG

Here it is... the "Tropical Oasis Jungle", right. I ordered a GIANT log hide, this one is too small I think.
Again, that plywood will be cut in half. I'm starting cuttings from my other spider plant, EVENTUALLY this enclosure will be filled with plants.
IMG_0156.JPG

A better picture, but without the pretty rocks :)

IMG_010222.JPG

Sooo, what do you all think? Suggestions?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
I really like it. You're doing a great job. And in the meantime, start accumulating, as $$ allow, more cinder blocks. Two-high would be much better.