NEED HELP/ADVICE for A LITTLE BOX

Adam90

Location (City and/or State)
Sarasota
I recently became a new FL BOX turtle keeper. Ive been using the "water" method with raising him I keep about ¼ to ½ inches of water in the bin at all times. Ever since I got him it seems like it wants NOTHING to do with the water and will climb out of the water up onto the fake plants where it's dry. Is this normal?!? s far as living conditions go, I've been raising it in a plastic bin inside of a tortoise house so predators arent a possibility. I live where they are from in their natural range so I figured outside would provide the best conditions. It's an"if it ain't broke don't fix it" situation but if I'm wrong let me know!

Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!!!!

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
I'm not too experienced with box turtles. But I think they're fully terrestrial and only occasionally get into the water. So this behavior might be normal.
I'm curious to see what others have to say.

Adam90

Sarasota
I'm not too experienced with box turtles. But I think they're fully terrestrial and only occasionally get into the water. So this behavior might be normal.
I'm curious to see what others have to say.

From what I've read their first couple of years they are mostly aquatic and transition to more of a land based turtle. Almost everybody raises them In a tub of water about ½" deep with a hide and a few plants but mine doesn't like to swim or something lolol. I'm very interested as well. It's my first box so I don't want to screw it up.

I've never seen such an active turtle either. This tiny bugger zips around non stop. Never heard of a turtle with the zoomies but I DEFINITELY got one lol.

Look at this little fella mid stride. Magnificent

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA