New and need guidance on what species to get!

PerfectSprawl

Location (City and/or State)
United States
Hello friends,

Unsure of whether or not I'm breaking post rules by posting what is most likely a commonly asked question. I'm a college student who lives at home and have had growing interest in purchasing a tortoise, however, I'm unsure of what species (breed?) to get. A bit of background: I live in a 3 bedroom apartment and I'm on the east coast of the US. I know I can't house a Sulcata, which bums me out but I like to remain a realist and not take on larger than life tasks such as that. I'd like something medium-sized, but would that be manageable in an apartment? How would one even define a "medium-sized tortoise" species? Thanks in advance everyone; I really want to get educated on my choices before I commit to buying the living essentials, food and the tortoise itself.

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
A Redfoot is medium sized, but an adult of 10-15" would require at least 8 to 12' square feet at a very bare minimum. About the size of a guest room.
Don't get me wrong, people DO keep tortoises in apartments, but have realistic ideas of what it will take.
How about getting a baby with a couple of years until it gets big. It would give you time to have your own place later.
I suggest a smaller species that grows slowly. Nothing medium or large.
There are several smaller species, but they will also eventually require very large (for an indoors animal) lodging, special lighting and heating.

naturalman91

5 Year Member
Medford Oregon
i agree a red foot is medium sized. i keep a tortoise in a apartment for a month more anyway until i move into my own home, it's not easy keeping them in a apartment imagine a california king sized bed that's pretty much the space they need and also they need to get out doors i was lucky enough to get a yard with my apartment.....