New guy with some Sulcata Q's

Status
Not open for further replies.

sandaddict

5 Year Member
Hi everyone, I am new to the forum but not new to tortoises/turtles, however I am new to the breeding habits of tortoises and thats where my questions come in. I have what I believe to be a big male and smaller female. The male (Samson) I have had for about 4 1/2 years and has been an amazing pet. The female (Delilah) I just recently adopted a few months ago. Everything was fine for the first week or two because I have a big backyard and they were able to roam by themselves without interupting each other. Once they did find one another Samson investgated for a while and then mounted her. This would go on for a week or so. Now the problem I am having is Samson will not leave her alone, he chases her around the yard and rams her (pretty hard too) over and over again to the point where she does'nt come out as much anymore. Is this normal? I fell bad for her, he is relentless and will go as far as going to her borrow and bullying her there. Is it possible I have two males and this is the reason for the behavior? See pictures below.

Thanks,
Chris AZ

Attachments

• photo 1.jpg
    photo 1.jpg
    50 KB · Views: 46
  • photo 2.jpg
    photo 2.jpg
    56.4 KB · Views: 50
  • photo 3.jpg
    photo 3.jpg
    84.1 KB · Views: 71

dmmj

The member formerly known as captain awesome
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
CA
Welcome to the forum and the world of sulcatas.
males like to mate, especially sulcatas. He will not leave her alone, ever, my best suggestion would be to but barriers in your yard, a friend of mine I know put down big logs everywhere so the male had to go around those to chase the female it worked a little but hr still mounts her every occasion he gets, more room ( harder to do I know) should work also.