Bobbyott

Hello I am a new member and I am also new to the tortoise world. I have a 4 month old sulcata only a few days now. I built a wood enclosure 4ft long x 2ft wide x 1 ft high. I have a heat lamp and a uvb lamp, I'd like to post some pictures of it to make sure I'm doing it right. He/she seems to be happy. I just wanted to say hi.

Bobbyott

Alexio

Location (City and/or State)
Syracuse, New York
You run day time lights on timers, I usually do 12-12. Then I have a ceramic heat emitter that is controlled by a probed thermostat it usually kicks on after the lights go off and runs on/off all night. The thermostat mostly keeps the CHE off during the day. When the lights are on and providing heat. In cold times the CHE turns on during the day ad well.

Bobbyott

Welcome to the Forum.
You run day time lights on timers, I usually do 12-12. Then I have a ceramic heat emitter that is controlled by a probed thermostat it usually kicks on after the lights go off and runs on/off all night. The thermostat mostly keeps the CHE off during the day. When the lights are on and providing heat. In cold times the CHE turns on during the day ad well.
So where should the placement of the heat emitter be? Posting a pic of my enclosure keep in mind it's 4ft long by 2ft wide image.jpeg

Alexio

Syracuse, New York
I usually keep mine in the middle ish or on the opposite end of the heat bulbs. Since yours is more rectangular I would place yours more in the center. What is your warm side / cool side day and night temps ? Also what if your humidity like? I feel like you would have an easier time maintaining temps and humidity if you finished enclosing your box. By finishing the top portion you will be able to keep the humidity inside the enclosure and keep the night temps up in cooler weather.

Bobbyott