New owner of a sulcata

Status
Not open for further replies.

AaaRr

5 Year Member
I went to the reptile show in san diego and came back with a sulcate tortise. He is older and not a baby I was told 20 but really if he is 20 he is under weight and small I think but I am new to keeping them so I do not know. I live in reno nevada and plan on keeping him outside in the summer. I will get a picture up and weight later. Just wanted to say hi and see what article I must read to start an adventure of learning and keeping my new family member.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
RE: New owner of a sulcat.

Hi AaaRr:

Welcome to the forum!!

May we know your name?

A 20 year old sulcata would be probably close to 100lbs. My Dudley is 20 and he's 105lbs.

Any sulcata over 10lbs should be considered an outside tortoise. He can be outside day and night in Reno. Make sure he has plenty of shade, lots of grass and weeds to eat, and a waterer he can climb into.

Its a good idea to place his hiding place (dog house or whatever) in the shade. A dog house in the sun is like an oven.

AaaRr

5 Year Member

emysemys said:
Hi AaaRr:

Welcome to the forum!!

May we know your name?

A 20 year old sulcata would be probably close to 100lbs. My Dudley is 20 and he's 105lbs.

Any sulcata over 10lbs should be considered an outside tortoise. He can be outside day and night in Reno. Make sure he has plenty of shade, lots of grass and weeds to eat, and a waterer he can climb into.

Its a good idea to place his hiding place (dog house or whatever) in the shade. A dog house in the sun is like an oven.