New Sulcata lover :-)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nahmas

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Florida
I just recently purchased a 1 1/2 month hatchling Sulcata and instantly feel in love with it :) I have been doing as much research as I can on caring for it properly and I have some questions for you experienced owners. Unfortunately the place that sold it to me didn't give me proper information on how to care it.

1) I have repti bark by zoo med on the floor of its housing. After reading some forums it looks like I should really have some kind of top soil 50/50 mix? Can I get it from homedepot or order it online?

2) What temperature should its housing be? I have a 60w bulb but I think it still gets to hot (92 degrees). I live in Florida so it stays warm during the day inside (78 degrees). Also what humidity level should her housing remain?

3) The pet store sold me tortoise food by zoo med. I read that food can cause pyramiding so I stopped giving it to her. Now I cut up alfalfa hay and dandelion greens, is that okay?

4) What kind of vitamin supplements should I give it? Can I get it from wholefoods or online?

Any tips you have for me will be greatly appreciated! Thank you so much
for taking the time out to help me. :)

Attachments

• Sulcata.jpg
    Sulcata.jpg
    400.8 KB · Views: 67

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Nahmas:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

What would you like us to call you?

Boy oh boy...did you ever come to us in the nick of time!! Most of what you've told us is not exactly the way we do it here. Not to say its wrong, but we think we do it better.

1. Repti-bark would be ok, but its a little hard for them to walk on. You can mix in some clean top soil or moistened coco coir or even cypress mulch.