New to Forum. Hello from Sunny Jersey

Status
Not open for further replies.

Speedy Gonzales

5 Year Member
Hello,

I am new to Tortoises. I am an expert on fish particularly African Rift Lake Cichlids, however I know nothing of these animals. I have just inherited 3 Spur-Thighed?Tortoises they used to belong to my mother in-law but she has recently had to move to a smaller accommodation as my father in-law is now disabled and they no longer have a garden to look after them. My wife and I have a large garden, we live in Jersey Channels Islands so the climate is warm in the early spring and summer months. The oldest Tortoise is called Speedy Gonzales after the 80s cartoon character, my wife called him that when she was just a little girl and in-fact there is quite an auspicious story how they came about him as he is quite a mystery!!!

It must have been the early 80s. My mother and father in-law went to see a large plot in the country on the out skirts of town where houses were about to be built by the local council. They had been offered a house there, having an original family of 7 children my wife being one of the youngest, the other children being some 16 years older had long left home. They wonted to down-size hence the reason for the visit. Anyway they were examining the plot where they were about to live ( and they did for some 10 years after which I met my wife when she was just 17 and we've been together since I whisked her away )