new to tortoises

Status
Not open for further replies.

Revanth

5 Year Member
Hey guys,

I am a complete noob. . .would love to get started with my own tortoise, been an aquarist for a long time ad would love to see some land creatures at home. ..and the perfect pet I thought would be a nice tortoise. :)

Fell in love with one of my frnds' tortoises. . So wanted one of my own. . .

Can anyone suggest a breed which will remain on the smaller end and indoors?

I live in portland oregon, so would keep him indoors all the time,
Can anyone suggest wht type of equipment I need and if you are from portland, can you suggest whr to get a tortoise frm as well?

Thanks a ton in advance.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi Revanth:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

May we know your name?

The Adjustor

5 Year Member
Tucson, Az
Hello, for a smaller tort I would recommend a Testudo species. Greeks, russians, hermans. They all stay pretty small and can be reasonably kept indoors year round (although some outside time in the summer never hurts ;))

Revanth

5 Year Member
Hmm. . .greeks? What level of care goes into them? I saw a red foot tort I think, and loved him. . .does he grow too big? I am looking for something that stay between 6 to 10 inches. . .

Also, help on equipment wil be great!!! :)

Revanth.

The Adjustor

5 Year Member
Tucson, Az
Redfoots definitely have the potential to get big. Far too big to be kept inside all year in my opinion (and they don't hybernate so you can't keep them outside in Oregon). Their husbandry requirements also require a little more thought and effort compared to a greek. They need very high humidity and are omnivorous whereas greeks are strictly herbivores and eat only plant matter. All things considered Greeks are going to be MUCH better considering your circumstances.