outdoor heating

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheCobbler

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Los Angeles, CA
I was wondering if thermal heating would be effective for an outdoor tort house. I live in southern california and the temps get down to the 40s F. If I were to build a house that was fully black and stored heat through solar heated water pipes, would you guys think heat would last through the night? (i'd insulate the enclosure well)

Biff Malibu

5 Year Member
Los Angeles
Hard to say without specifics. You'd have to do some research on how much heat they can produce for how long. Depending on enclosure size, will this be enough to bring it up to the temperature you need?

I can't really help, I have no experience with "Solar Heated Water Pipes"

Dizisdalife

10 Year Member!
California
It probably can be done, but the question is if it would be economical to build. Tom has built a night box that he discussed here on the Forum that was buried in the ground, a form of solar heat since the earth is a solar battery. I really like the concept since it is similar to what they might have in the wild. It provides a cool safe place for their daytime use and a warm safe place for them at night. An electrical heater is installed for those winter nights when it is just too cold.

Here is the thread:

http://www.tortoiseforum.org/thread-28662.html?highlight=burrows

TheCobbler

5 Year Member
Los Angeles, CA
thats an interesting thread. thanks. I wouldn't be able to put it into the ground, but the concept is similar i guess. I'd just paint the house black and use plexiglass to heat up the house. I guess it'd look like this thing (http://test5-img.ehowcdn.com/articl...s/a02/16/2k/build-solar-dog-house-800x800.jpg) but would additionally have black pipes full of water which would be heated during the day and then heat the house at night.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California