Outdoor Indian Star Group

PA2019

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Tucson, AZ
After making an enclosure construction thread, I thought I would start an all-encompassing thread for my star group with photos of the enclosure, the torts, and any breeding/incubation success I have.

My group consists of 2.2 Indian stars, from multiple sources. I might expand the pen for another female in the future, but right now I want to figure out how to have breeding success.

Be forewarned, I work in the medical field and like acronyms :)

Female 1: BF (Big female)

Purchased from Chris Leone, as a proven, pure Indian star. Around 7.5" plastron and 1,500-1,600g. By far the least shy of the group. She follows me around the perimeter of the pen, hoping a delicious hibiscus flower (or 5 haha) will magically fall from the sky. Although proven, I have been unsuccessful introducing her to LG thus far.

w%tRVtEMSWeOTLq4VeBLvA.jpg HR5oKZlYTry+wF62nL8RQQ.jpg siiRqljiTXyOPFciUqQccQ.jpg

Female 2: LF (Little female)

Part of a "farm raised" pair I bought from Redfoot Ranch before I understood that meant WC :(. 5.5" plastron and her weight can be anywhere from 600-750g. I used to freak out over the weight changes but after her fecal testing came back normal, and her appetite voracious, I've accepted it. She is somewhat shy, loves to soak, and will eat a cactus pad until she literally falls asleep on it.

88sY0DSLSziWc9Uqvw0fIQ.jpg t3dWJUalQaukYIOeEAd6hg.jpg RRFpOEf1Q7+eMBrDgY%CbQ.jpg wj3P4DBVRkuhfhVghVKZ1A.jpg

Male 1: LG (Little guy)