Overseeding

Status
Not open for further replies.
Y

You Me and Mr T

I'm not sure if this belongs in enclosures or diet, so feel free to move if necessary...

In the next month or so I typically overseed my ~1000 sq. ft. Bermuda lawn with Rye grass for the winter here in Phoenix. I typically mow the grass really short (scalp the lawn), plant new seed, and cover with topsoil. The new grass takes about 2 weeks to sprout and another 2 weeks to look somewhat good.

This is my first year with my sulcata, Mr. T. His main diet consists of the Bermuda grass from my lawn. What should I do during this transitional period? What do other folks do who overseed and have a grazing tortoise?

~Jason

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
My Dudley just has to keep right on a-grazin' that old, dead Bermuda grass. I don't overseed, and I don't feed him. But when the weather cools down some, the winter weeds start to sprout, so he eats weeds and dead Bermuda grass.

I guess if Mr. T's buffet is scalped, you'll just have to provide him with grocery store greens and veggies until the winter grass comes in.

Yvonne

Millerlite

10 Year Member!
Southern Calif.
I know a lot of people have two enclosures and would have one for the sulcata to stay in, then when they munch all the grass away they move them in the other enclosure where the grass is good and keep rotating.. I had to do this for my russian tortoise group because they would eat all the grass down to the dirt. Its a little harder for a sulcata though since they take a bunch of room,

tortoisenerd

5 Year Member
Washington