Pacing leopard tortoise

Brandi

5 Year Member
Hi my leopard tortoise is 6 years old and paces(Jhonny is his name -hope he IS a male). He pacesnot all the time but usually before or after he eats. Is this normal?
He is very friendly and people oriented but I am wondering if he is bored and needs a mate? Do leopards do well with a partner of same sex or opposite?
I have more questions but I am not sure where or how to post a variety of questions about a leopard. This is my first time interacting with this site.
Please advise
Thank you,
Brandi

Maro2Bear

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA
Greetings and welcome. I’m sure some experienced Leopard keepers will soon chime in.... but, there are lots of reasons! Too hot, cold, too bright, enclosure area too small, etc.

You don’t want to get another “friend” that's never the solution.

Take a few pix of your enclosure, tell us where you are located, lighting, heating, housing, etc.

Take a read here too.. https://tortoiseforum.org/threads/how-to-raise-a-healthy-sulcata-or-leopard-version-2-0.78361/

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
What size enclosure? My leopards live outside in the summer. They walk around a lot. Will walk up and down their very large enclosures. Will go in and out of their shed, lay under the shade tree, graze on the weeds and grasses and then will "pace" walk the enclosure some more. However, they have a large enclosure so they are doing their thing. If yours is I better too small of an enclosure then he likely wants out. A six year old should be around 10 inches long give or take and needs a very large enclosure.

Brandi

5 Year Member