Petco Rescue

max.chang

Location (City and/or State)
Logan, Utah
Hey all, new to the forum here. I'm a second year veterinary student doing an internship at an animal hospital in Connecticut. A month ago Petco brought two Russian tortoises in that were failing to thrive, had URIs as well. They surrendered the sicker one to us, the vet said it was unlikely to survive if it went back to Petco. I ended up volunteering to cover it's vet care and it's mine now. It is severely muscle wasted, seems chronically dehydrated, and just seems all around in a bad shape. I'm about to drive cross country next week and I'll bring him back to vet school with me.

We've really only learned about dogs and cats, and I've been a vet tech for three years, but I don't really know about tortoises, just companion animals, cattle, and sheep. I've had a red eared slider for 21 years and so I know just a little about chelonians, but not really about sick ones.

I really want this tortoise to survive. Definitely seems WC, his shell is super beat up. The other tortoise is was housed with was much more muscular and larger, I think it was keeping this one from eating.

We did two weeks of injectable antibiotics and fluids, but that ended a couple of weeks ago. He was doing better for awhile and the URI went away, but I'm still not convinced he's through the woods. I've been reading Tom's care sheets and a lot of other threads here, it seems like the hobbyists know way more than vets who are trained on mammals.

Anyways, he eats a little, but is so picky. Some days it's only crab grass, other days it's dandelions, and some days it's only romaine lettuce. Refuses carrots, kale, red lettuce, LS Mazuri. I try everything, I'm just so desperate to have him eat - he's emaciated and his eyes are so sunken in. I've been doing weekly soaks and he does drink some.

I guess it feels like a tossup on if he'll make it. Would love your advice, if you have any.