Pictures from my zoo Internship

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShadowRancher

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Columbia, SC
Hey everyone! Think I'll finally have time to participate in the forum again :D
I graduated with my Bio degree in May and my Student job at the university asked me to start full time as a temp for the next 6 months or so (so I am just volunteering at the zoo on weekends now) but I had an internship in the Bird Department of Riverbanks zoo (http://www.riverbanks.org/). In April I had knee surgery for an old injury to my meniscus (another reason I had to cut down on my zoo hours). But I finally feel like I'm getting things in order and I'm getting my resume together to start applying at other zoos for actual positions so I'm feeling pretty good. So here's some pictures :p

This is the sulcata exhibit...we have 3 I think? I only toured the Reptile department once behind the scenes. And I just realized that I don't have pictures of most of our torts. We have a really big group of Radiated and 5 or 6 Burmese mountains as well as a pretty impressive collection in the back. I'll have to remember to get more pics

baby Galops

This guy is in our local animals exibit

Adult galop, I got to hang out with them one day and they are truly amazing.

baby komodo, met them too (they like to lick :p)

This big guy always scares me when I'm looking for him...he's usually right in front of your face once you see him.

This little muddy always has his mouth open

This is where I was working. I was never really a bird person but these guys have converted me, every animal in the department was fascinating.

Here's me with one of our Spectacled owls I got to help out on weigh/inspection day.

And this is our female Eurasian Eagle owl

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
What a nice place to work. I love owls!!

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...