Please help! So new to this! (not moving much)

Gráinne

I'm new to owning a tortoise! She/ he is 6 months old and just beautiful but just transported home today and spending a lot of time under the heat lamp! is this normal? And it hasnt used its cave yet! I have so much to learn about owning a tortoise(Greek) in Ireland with bad weather so it's unfortately in vivarium! Any advice will be so appreciated!

Kasia

Location (City and/or State)
Poland

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
Hello and welcome from the UK :)

You have come to the right place. We have some excellent species experts on here who are working hard to correct the misinformation on the wider internet and sadly from some breeders and pet shops too.

The best way for us to help you is if you post photos of your tort and its enclosure so we can recommend adjustments.

Please read the following which have everything you need in them
Beginner Mistakes http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/
Greek Care Sheet http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/greek-tortoise-testudo-graeca-care-sheet-overview.87146/

A new tort is frequently shy. They are slow to adapt to change. I recommend establishing a routine so he learns that you are not scary.

Put the lights on timers so they come on and go off at the same time each day.
Start the day before he's warmed up properly, with a soak in warm water in a high sided bowl for a good 20 minutes.

While he's soaking tidy up the enclosure and put food in.

Pop your tort back and walk away, leaving him to be brave and explore without being watched.

He'll soon get the idea that you're the bringer of yummy food :)

JoesMum

10 Year Member!
Kent, South East England
Diet should be a mix of leafy greens by the way. Your tort can't digest sugars properly so fruit, carrot and pepper should be fed only very occasionally.

Weeds like dandelion, plantain, sow thistle are best.