Power Outage During Hurricane

Status
Not open for further replies.

Q'sTortie

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Tampa, Florida
Does anyone have any suggestion on how to provide heat to a tortoise table if there is a power outage that last a couple days during a hurricane? The storm does not seem like it will hit my area dead on but I want to know just in case. I thought about a generator but you can't run one inside because they use gasoline as fuel and I am a broke college student so I cant afford one.

Any suggestion will be awesome. Thank you ahead of time!!

Julius25

5 Year Member
France
i don't know the english term but they are some black box with batterie in it that you place just before your equipement and if the power shut down, the batterie take on.
I don't know the autonomy of batterie but it could be a good help.

jaizei

Unknown Member
10 Year Member!
Earth
I think Barb is right. Unless it gets cold, you're fine for a few days.

Julius25 said:
i don't know the english term but they are some black box with batterie in it that you place just before your equipement and if the power shut down, the batterie take on.
I don't know the autonomy of batterie but it could be a good help.

I think you're thinking of a UPS. Typically, they are used as a bridge from one power source to another. When you lose power from your utility, the UPS provides power until your backup generator kicks on or until you can do a controlled shutdown (save files). Depending on the load, most UPS are intended to supply power for anywhere from 90 seconds to an hour. Rarely longer.

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...