Russian tortoise diet

delaine85

Location (City and/or State)
Cheney WA USA
Hello! I'm new to tortoise care. Just got one from a guy who had been keeping him in a 12" x 24" enclosure and feeding nothing but romaine lettuce for 5 years... He seems healthy enough despite the circumstances but I'm curious how a person would go about expanding his diet after so long. I've included red and green leaf lettuce with success but he won't touch premade tortoise food. He's also never been given a water bowl doesn't seem to like drinking water straight. They did tell me they soaked him every week or so but he really seems to hate that. I've just got him the Tortoise House to give him more space. He's also had no heat at night. Is that healthy?

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome!

Take a look at our care sheet here: https://tortoiseforum.org/threads/russian-tortoise-care-sheet.80698/

He speaks about what you can feed them.

Russians, in my experience, don't seem to be too fond of being soaked, or of a water dish. I keep a plant saucer of water in their yard for them, but I've never seen them drinking out of it. So when I put food down (not very often because their yard is way overgrown with weeds) I spritz water over it so they get a bit of water that way.

I know the weather isn't right to have him outside now, but be thinking of getting him outside this summer in a well planted, safe and escape-proof yard. Then next winter you won't need to keep him indoors because he can hibernate.

TechnoCheese

5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Lewisville, Texas
Welcome to the forum! Most of your questions might be answered by these-
Russian Tortoise Care Sheet
https://tortoiseforum.org/index.php?threads/Russian-Tortoise-Care-Sheet.80698/
Beginner Mistakes
https://tortoiseforum.org/index.php?threads/Beginner-Mistakes.45180/