Russian Tortoise San Diego

Chompy

Location (City and/or State)
San Diego, CA
i am new to having a RT. In San Diego it is around 79 in afternoon and 63 at night. Should she be hibernating. It’s going to be in 80s tomorrow, but so cold at night. What’s the right thing to do?

LaLaP

5 Year Member
Portland, OR
Hi and Wecome!
Your current temps are fine as long as she has direct sun as well as cool shade. 63 at night is great as long as she can warm up in the sun in the morning. I'm guessing that it won't get cold enough, consistently enough for her to hibernate in SD. You would have to refrigerate her or just skip the hibernation and keep her up. Here is a care sheet that will give you the temps, plus lots of other good info.

https://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/russian-tortoise-care-sheet.80698/

And here is a thread called Beginner mistakes which is super helpful.

https://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/

Hope that helps! Have any pics of your tortoise and her enclosure? I love to see all the cute torts and the homes people create :)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
It is sometimes difficult for a Russian tortoise to hibernate in the San Diego area, as it doesn't get cold enough. As long as he's eating and acting normal, I wouldn't worry about hibernation. Just continue to offer food and maybe put up a light/heat inside his shelter for those cooler nights.

Chompy

San Diego, CA
Thank you so much. This forum is wonderful. I use to raise Box Turtles when I was younger, but have never had a RT. I bought Alfalfa litter because of another advice site and just read not to give to her. Thank goodness I read that before putting it in her enclosure. I have a few more questions and would be thankful for your help.