Shell Questions with Pics

Sggatsmit

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
USA
Got this little guy, a Western Hermann’s tortoise, and I have some questions about whether his shell is healthy or not. I’m a one-time tortoise owner so I’m not experienced in knowing what problems look like, but I don’t think I see any pyramiding. However, I’m concerned about two things: 1) the ridges along his scutes and 2) the crack/separation/line between his costal and marginal scutes, which is only present on one side of his body (see second pic). Can anyone tell me if these are concerning or if they are normal, and whether you notice anything else? Also, can anyone recommend a vet in or near southern Indiana (located in Columbus, halfway between Indianapolis and Louisville).IMG_4401.jpegIMG_4400.jpeg

EricW

Houston, TX
Welcome! This tortoise is displaying characteristics of not being kept properly. It does have some pyramiding, overgrown beak, and I will let others comment on the crack. You will need to get this tortoise properly kept and conditions will improve. I am sure others will chime in, but please read the following:

Sggatsmit

5 Year Member
USA
Welcome! This tortoise is displaying characteristics of not being kept properly. It does have some pyramiding, overgrown beak, and I will let others comment on the crack. You will need to get this tortoise properly kept and conditions will improve. I am sure others will chime in, but please read the following:

Thank you! I see some things in here I’ve come across and some I hadn’t, so this is helpful. Hopefully can get the little guy on the right track!

EricW

Houston, TX
Please come back and ask more questions after you have digested the link and able to get him on the right track husbandry wise. The beak will improve and the new growth on the shell will be great when brought into the correct care. Good luck with him.